Danity Kane – Welcome To The Dollhouse

Track Listing 

  1. Welcome To The Dollhouse
  2. Bad Girl
  3. Damaged
  4. Pretty Boy
  5. Strip Tease
  6. Sucka for Love
  7. Secret Place 
  8. Ecstasy 
  9. 2 of You
  10. Lights Out
  11. Picture This 
  12. Poetry
  13. Key to My Heart
  14. Flashback
  15. Is Anybody Listening…
  16. Ain’t Going

Released: 03.18.2008

Genre: dance pop, R&B

Can I just start off by saying that I always thought this groups name was “Dainty” Kane, not “Danity” Kane? Literally for the past ten plus years I have been saying their name wrong and I’m still trying to process that. Anyway, Danity Kane was a girl group that rose to fame in the mid to late 2000’s, with both of their first and second albums reaching the number one spot on the charts. Despite their success, I had never actually heard of them until a while later when their single “Damaged” became a hit and I had never even listened to any of their studio albums until this year. Hearing this music back is so strange because there are times where it most definitely sounds like the late 2000s to the point where the feeling of nostalgia is almost overwhelming. But then there are also moments where the production is phenomenal, their vocals are seamlessly blended and the hooks are catchy and fun. “Welcome To The Dollhouse” in particular received mixed reviews from critics, which I can understand. But you have to take a look at this from a different perspective, and when you do, I can guarantee you’ll find some fantastic pop songs that have managed to live far beyond the 2000’s.

Leave a Reply

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: