Foster The People – Torches

Track Listing 

  1. Helena Beat 
  2. Pimped Up Kicks
  3. Call It What You Want
  4. Don’t Stop (Color on the Walls)
  5. Waste
  6. I Would Do Anything For You
  7. Houdini
  8. Life on the Nickle
  9. Miss You 
  10. Warrant

Released: 05.23.2011

Genre: indie pop

Way back in the day around ten years ago when people actually used to purchase physical CDs, I remember being a young teenager and walking into Best Buy to get a copy of Torches, the debut album from indie band Foster The People. Their hit single “Pumped Up Kicks” had been all over the radio the summer of 2010 and by the spring of 2011, they had another single, “Don’t Stop (Color On The Walls)” also capturing my attention. This was when I really started expanding on my music choices and I was excited to listen to an album that wasn’t just conventional pop, and if I’m being honest, this one took a while to grow on me. A few songs instantly stuck, like “I Would Do Anything For You” and “Houdini” but others I just didn’t get. They had so many intricate layers and lyrics that I couldn’t piece together at times, and yet this was a record that I kept going back to little by little. I still remember that feeling of excitement that my younger self felt while waiting to pay for my CD with my allowance money, and it’s a feeling that lingers on when I listen to these songs to this day. It’s rare to come across a collection of songs that manages to live on that long in emotion and in general sound, but this record here is something special. This project was way ahead of the “indie” trend that was to come and it feels timeless and already like a classic, despite it being around for only a decade.

Leave a Reply

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: