Carly Rae Jepsen – Emotion

Track Listing 

  1. Run Away With Me
  2. Emotion
  3. I Really Like You
  4. Gimmie Love
  5. All That
  6. Boy Problems
  7. Making The Most Of The Night
  8. Your Type
  9. Let’s Get Lost
  10. LA Hallucinations
  11. Warm Blood
  12. When I Needed You
  13. Black Heart
  14. I Didn’t Just Come Here To Dance
  15. Favourite Colour

Released: 06.24.2015

Genre: pop, dance pop. disco

In 2012, Carly Rae Jepsen burst onto the scene with her now Diamond certified hit single “Call Me Maybe” which should have launched her into pop music stardom. And yet, it seems as though it did the opposite where instead of encouraging fans to listen to her other music, most people only regard her as the “Call Me Maybe” girl. Her second album, Kiss, that the song is featured on only reached number 5 on the Billboard albums chart and no other singles from the record reached the same success. A few years later, she came out with her third studio album, Emotion, which charted slightly worse and produced no singles that could match the magnitude of “Call Me Maybe”. There are so many artists out there who hold the title of “a one hit wonder” and there are others who move past that setback in their career. As much as I’ve thought about it, I can’t figure out why that is. But one thing I do know for sure is that I wish I gave this record a chance when it was first released because Carly Rae Jepsen should be better known than for just one song released ages ago.

Emotion is based around an 80’s pop feel, which, if we’re being real here, is one of the most overused and tired production techniques of modern music. At this point, as fun of a sound as that creates, it’s become too common and is almost expected in some cases. Coming from somebody who is an avid lover of 80’s music, I can even attest to the fact that most of the time these modern “throwback” songs never really sound authentic in any way. With that being said, even thought this record sounds like it was made forty years ago, it surprisingly doesn’t feel cliché. The 80’s influences are all there including lots of synthesizer, dance beats, prominent drumming, and funky guitar riffs but with this one, Carly Rae really made it her own with her distinct vocals and modern production. Each song is crafted to be its own standalone work but none of them deviate from this 80’s pop vibe to fit together to create one cohesive work of art. Jepsen was even the main writer on almost every single track, proving her contribution in a major way. I can’t help but think how ahead of the times this project was and looking back on it, it truly does sparkle and shine will all the best things pop music has to offer. 

Covers & Remixes

Music Videos

Leave a Reply

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: