MGMT – Oracular Spectacular

Track Listing

  1. Time to Pretend
  2. Weekend Wars
  3. The Youth
  4. Electric Feel
  5. Kids
  6. 4th Dimensional Transition
  7. Pieces of What
  8. Of Moons, Birds & Monsters
  9. The Handshake
  10. Future Reflections

Released: 10.02.2007

Genre: indie pop, psychedelic pop

Oracular Spectacular is one of those pieces of music that really only comes around every once in a while. It’s got it all: a cohesive sound, well done lyrics and vocals, incredible production, and most importantly, longevity. Around the turn of the century, the music industry was dynamically changing and I remember this period being filled with indie artists that thruthfully all sounded the same. MGMT took a different spin on things, though, and created songs that were catchy but dynamic, with varying tempos and feels. Gorgeous guitar pieces and synthesizer combine with pop undertones to make the songs psychedelic and thought inducing with pop inspired hooks that are unforgettable. This project is simply electric; song in and song out, the excitement never fades and even to this day, these songs are still some of the most easily recognized indie tracks and are in constant rotation on playlists to this day. 

Music Videos

Covers & Remixes

Leave a Reply

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: