Janet Jackson – Control

Track Listing 

  1. Control
  2. Nasty
  3. What Have You Don’t For Me Lately
  4. You Can Be Mine
  5. The Pleasure Principle
  6. When I Think of You
  7. He Doesn’t Know I’m Alive
  8. Let’s Wait Awhile
  9. Funny How Time Flies (When You’re Having Fun)

Released: 02.04.1986

Genre: pop, R&B

Control can easy be summed up with only one word: revolutionary. This third album from Janet Jackson not only saw her take charge of her career and life, but with it she helped start the development of what was to become the genre of new jack swing. With songs that question lots of life’s moments such as how dedicated your partner is to you or why you can’t make your own decisions, Janet takes us through a journey of growing pains and makes us dance the entire way. It’s sonically very late 80’s feelings and the outfits in the music videos are undeniably outdated (although still very cute, if I do say so myself) but this moment in time serves as a true cultural reset, for Janet personally and for pop music as a whole. 

Music Videos

Leave a Reply

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: