Arctic Monkeys – Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino

Track Listing 

  1. Star Treatment
  2. One Point Perspective
  3. American Sports
  4. Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino
  5. Golden Trunks
  6. Four Out of Five
  7. The World’s First Ever Monster Truck Front Flip
  8. Science Fiction
  9. She Looks Like Fun
  10. Batphone
  11. The Ultracheese

Released: 05.11.2018

Genre: glam rock, space pop

Based on the Arctic Monkey’s previous five records, I can understand why this one was so polarizing upon its release. Many may regard their previous album, AM, as their peak and while it’s easy to consider it that way, I see it as a project that set the band free in a way, and Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino is the absolute most perfect follow up. It’s a sharp deviation from their typical alternative rock feel that we’ve all become accustomed to over the course of the bands previous fifteen year history, and although each album of theirs is exceptional in it’s own special way, this one is a lot more interesting. Throughout each song, the listener is taken through a journey at an imaginary hotel with lyrics that center around science fiction, with instrumental that leans towards dream pop and psychedelic, rather than guitar riffs and prominent drums. The tracks aren’t always arranged necessarily in a typical verse/chorus structure and lead singer Alex Turner’s vocals are dramatically different than before. The creativity on this project is exceptional, where you’ll hear something new with every listen and it almost sounds so other worldly that it’s sure to be remembered as a daring and standout album in all of music history. 

Music Videos

Leave a Reply

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: