Third Eye Blind – Third Eye Blind

Track Listing 

  1. Losing A Whole Year
  2. Narcolepsy
  3. Semi-Charmed Life
  4. Jumper
  5. Graduate
  6. How It’s Going To Be
  7. Thanks a Lot
  8. Burning Man
  9. Good For You
  10. London
  11. I Want You
  12. The Background
  13. Motorcycle Drive By
  14. God of Wine

Released: 04.08.1997

Genre: alternative rock

Third Eye Blind burst onto the scene with a debut album that was quite honestly a bit jarring if you happen to look close enough. The tone of it is classic mid to late 90s alternative rock, which came after the grunge movement that was popular at the beginning of the decade. Each song is perfectly crafted with incredible guitar riffs and percussion, and to this day is still incredibly timeless that I even forget it’s over 20 years old at this point and I listen to it rather regularly. But while it’s very sonically pleasant, lyrically is where it takes a bit of a darker turn. This record tells stories of drug addiction, suicide, abuse and just general unfortunate and dismal topics, packaged in a way where if you don’t listen carefully you’ll easily miss it. It’s explicit but not obvious, and it’ll make you hit reply, but not just because it’s enjoyable to listen to. This as a debut is daring and I’m sure not many bands would have the confidence to release this as their first. 

Music Videos

Live Performances

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: