My Chemical Romance – Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge

Track Listing 

  1. Helena
  2. Give ‘Em Hell, Kid
  3. To The End
  4. You Know What They Do to Guys Like Us in Prison
  5. I’m Not Okay (I Promise)
  6. The Ghost of You 
  7. The Jetset Life Is Gonna Kill You
  8. Interlude
  9. Thank You for the Venom
  10. Hang ‘Em High
  11. It’s Not a Fashion Statement, It’s a Deathwish
  12. Cemetery Drive
  13. I Never Told You Want I Do for a Living 

Released: 06.08.2004

Genre: alt rock, pop punk

My Chemical Romance’s most iconic album is undeniably The Black Parade and is understandably a fan favorite, with it’s polished emo feel and legendary song “Welcome To The Black Parade”. But I’ve always gravitated more to Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge because I’ve always liked how it’s a step up from their debut but it’s still a little rough around the edges. It’s dark but melodic with catchy hooks and dismal lyricism, and the bridges on this album are especially incredible. It’s loosely based on a storyline about a man who made a deal with the devil to get his true love back but it’s not heavily set in that concept which gives the listener flexibility to apply whatever meaning they want to it. While this record does have a certain genre and theme, it still comes off like a blank slate where you get to choose what you want to take away from it. And while I truly do enjoy everything MCR has put out, this record feels a lot more unique and unexpected than their other material.

Music Videos

Leave a Reply

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: