Miley Cyrus – Can’t Be Tamed

Track Listing 

  1. Liberty Walk
  2. Who Owns My Heart
  3. Can’t Be Tamed
  4. Every Rose Has It’s Thorn
  5. Two More Lonely People
  6. Forgiveness And Love
  7. Permanent December
  8. Stay
  9. Scars
  10. Take Me Along
  11. Robot
  12. My Heart Beats For Love

Released: 06.18.2010

Genre: dance pop

I remember how controversial Can’t Be Tamed was when it first came out, with many overreacting about Miley’s more “adult” image. But looking back on it, it’s really rather lukewarm in terms of content and made a lot of sense in terms of where she was in her life at this point. The songs are well rounded coming of age songs and deliver some really important messages, while showcasing Miley’s maturity at such a young age. But more importantly, it’s also sonically a very significant piece to consider in music history. This album helped create a bridge between the pop rock that was dying out at the end of the late 2000s and the synth pop sound that was about to take over. Most projects around this time took one side or the other, but this one managed to do both seamlessly and deserves to be recognized for that. Although there are no prominent guitar or drum moments and the production relies on mainly synthesizer, there are cool rock influences underneath it all that can be overlooked if you just consider this a “pop” record. 

Music Videos

Leave a Reply

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: