Mayday Parade – Sunnyland

Track Listing 

  1. Never Sure
  2. It’s Hard To Be Religious When Certain People Are Never Incinerated By Bolts Of Lightning
  3. Piece Of Your Heart
  4. Is Nowhere
  5. Take My Breath Away
  6. Stay The Same
  7. How Do You Like Me Now
  8. Where You Are
  9. If I Were You
  10. Satellite
  11. Looks Red ,Tastes Blue
  12. Always Leaving 
  13. Sunnyland

Released: 06.15.2018

Genre: pop punk

At this point in time, it’s clear that Mayday Parade are veterans in the pop punk genre. With a career spanning well over a decade and consistent appearances on Warped Tour along with many other aspects in the pop punk world, they are easily one of the most liked and well rounded groups to emerge from the mid 2000s emo takeover. They’re one of the only groups from this time to stay within the genre and constantly deliver quality work, and by now are an epitome of modern pop rock. That is why their 2018 release, Sunnyland, is a phenomenal record in their discography. The album takes every sound, every production technique technique, and everything the band has done and creates a little collection of modern pop punk history. It’s not always the most cohesive sounding thing, as it does sound like a mish mash of the past twenty years of the genre but it serves as a time capsule of sorts, bringing about a sense of nostalgia and comfort. It doesn’t feel forced or unauthentic, which is something only a band like Mayday Parade can achieve. 

Leave a Reply

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: